## Anesthesiology in-room provider workflow task force expansion – call for nominations

Several people have commented recently that it may be time to review how we schedule the people who do the primary in-room provision of anesthesia services at VUMC – the residents, fellows, CRNAs and SRNAs who collectively deliver the product that makes us great. A discussion has been ongoing for a couple of months now, and in a few recent leadership meetings, some ideas were debated about the best way to go about this. Given the huge number of people involved, and that any talk of schedule reform always causes a fuss, we felt a task-force approach would be appropriate. As you know, a task force is an administrative mechanism that charges a group of people to conduct a job, and then disbands once the work is done.

An initial half day meeting in January was held at which a great start was made. The participants included CRNAs, residents, and faculty. During that meeting, some of the issues were identified along with some high-level solutions. These now need to be developed into actionable plans, and as such we need to expand the group to include 6 more "at large" members of the department. These folks can either self-nominate, or be nominated, and will be drawn from the faculty (2 places), the CRNA pool (2 places – who will dually represent the SRNA contingent), and the resident/fellow pool (2 places).

This expanded group will meet monthly for 3 meetings, after which a summary proposal will be developed. This will be published on the department intranet and will be subject to a three-month period of public commentary where everybody in the department can have their say. After this, the document will be revised to take these comments into consideration, and a final draft prepared for presentation to the Anesthesiology Executive Committee. They will then review and revise it before presentation to the department as a whole.

Please send Brent Dunworth an email by 5pm on Tuesday, February 9th if you would like to take part in this task force, or would like to nominate someone else instead. We will write to those selected before the next meeting.

Best regards,

Andy Shaw Matt McEvoy Brent Dunworth